Where the Crawdads Sing - Delia Owens

Where the Crawdads Sing

By Delia Owens

  • Release Date: 2018-08-14
  • Genre: Literary
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 14,542 Ratings

Description

#1 New York Times Bestseller
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle


For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

Amazon/iTunes Reviews

  • Review

    5
    By Stay Sanitary
    I bought the physical book having no idea what it was about and I looked every second of it. The statement is true were “I didn’t want it to end” is actually what I thought when I finished the book. 8.7/10
  • GNdsh

    2
    By h chygggnn
    Hi rgteeedetcrc dI Ursula cc tdtrtffgdko hccruur
  • Meh

    2
    By Nickname, Enter A.
    Although well written, I found the premise of this book to be unbelievable. I just had a hard time with suspension of disbelief. I’ve heard a lot of people rave about this story. Perhaps my expectations were too high. I’d certainly still read it to pass the time, but it just never fully grabbed me. Overrated😐
  • Love this book!

    5
    By AZWeez
    I read this book in two days. Beautifully written, wonderful characters. I was right next to Kya as she taught me about survival, nature and love
  • So good

    5
    By Allykay101
    A love story and a murder mystery ! So easy to follow
  • Emotional roller coaster

    5
    By jenni ren
    Excellent book! The description of the Marsh transports you the world of Kya. You’ll find yourself feeling each emotion with depth. This book is beautiful, and I could not recommend it more!!
  • Excellent book!

    5
    By MygiftsA&L
    This is a wonderful book and I hated to see it end!
  • Breathtakingly Phenomenal!

    5
    By Parsons D.
    The most captivating and beautifully articulated murder mysteries I have ever read. Definitely a book I intend to add to my collection in order to read again in the years to come.
  • Awesome!

    5
    By zannersstafford
    Worth reading
  • Amazing!!

    5
    By Randa1121
    This is one of the best books I have read!! It really draws you in!! I couldn’t put it down..

Comments